Events

Banff Mountain Film Festival

slide1

Thanks to everyone who attended the Banff Film Festival on March 3 in Redlands. It was a great show. We sold out the theater and had to turn people away. Please join us next year!

 

Wild and Scenic Film Festival

Thanks to all who came out for the Wild and Scenic Film Festival on Oct 20!

 

 


Ranger Talks At the Greyback Amphitheater

Ranger talks are over for the 2016 season. thanks to all who attended! see you next year!IMG_1609

Programs start at 7:30 pm in the Greyback Amphitheater (about a mile and a half east of the Barton Flats Visitor Center on Hwy 38). Programs are arranged and introduced by SGWA volunteer rangers, who also present most of the programs. California Land Management,the local campground concessionaire, maintains the amphitheater, provides monetary support for interpretive training, supplies, and equipment, and employees to set up and take down program equipment. In all, a great partnership between SGWA, California Land Management, and the Forest Service for the benefit of the public.

The programs are free along with hot chocolate and coffee (your generous donations are welcome and appreciated), with candy and snacks available for purchase. Bring warm clothing. Programs will be held each scheduled weekend unless it is raining DURING the program time (rain before or after, the show goes on – sprinkles don’t count as rain).

Programs run about one hour, and the schedule is subject to change.

2016 Ranger Talk Schedule

DATE PROGRAM
Saturday May 28 My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail
Sunday May 29 The Amazing John Muir and the John Muir Trail
Saturday June 4 The Secret Life of Trees
Saturday June 11 Trails & Tunes: The Horse and Rider in the West
Saturday June 18 Take The Big Foot Challenge
Saturday June 25 When Things Go Wrong
Saturday July 2 Do Bald Eagles Really Have Bad Breath?
Sunday July 3 Smokey Bear and Forest Super-Heroes
Saturday July 9 Bears, Bears, Bears!
Saturday July 16 Forest Fire Recovery: Up from the Ashes
Saturday July 23 How WE Made A Wilderness
Saturday July 30 The Amazing John Muir and the John Muir Trail
Saturday Aug 6 Take the Bigfoot Challenge
Saturday Aug 13 Campfire Hall of Fame
Saturday Aug 20 No evening program – Forest Festival all day at Barton Flats Vistor Center!
Saturday Aug 27 How WE Made a Wilderness
Saturday Sep 3 Bears, Bears, Bears!
Sunday Sep 4 My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail