Ranger Talks

Programs start at 7:30 pm in the Greyback Amphitheater (about a mile and a half east of the Barton Flats Visitor Center on Hwy 38). Programs are arranged, coordinated, and introduced by SGWA volunteer rangers .  SGWA volunteer rangers also present most of the programs. In addition to maintaining the Greyback Amphitheater facilities, California Land Management (the local campground concessionaire) provides monetary support for interpretive training, supplies, and equipment, and employees to set up and take down program equipment. In all, a great partnership between SGWA, California Land Management, and the Forest Service for the benefit of the public.

The programs are free along with hot chocolate and coffee (your generous donations are welcome and appreciated), with candy and snacks available for purchase. Bring warm clothing. Programs will be held each scheduled weekend unless it is raining DURING the program time (rain before or after, the show goes on – sprinkles don’t count as rain).

Programs run about one hour, and the schedule is subject to change.

2019 Ranger Talk Schedule
DATE PROGRAM
Saturday May 25 My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail
Sunday May 26 The Secret Life of Trees
Saturday June 1 The Secret Life of Trees
Saturday June 8 The Amazing John Muir and the John Muir Trail
Saturday June 15 Rattlesnakes: Cold-Blooded Killers
Saturday June 22 Experiencing the Wilderness with Children
Saturday June 29 The Amazing John Muir and the John Muir Trail
Friday July 5 The Better to See You With, My Deer
Saturday July 6 The Secret Life of Trees
Saturday July 13 Scat, What’s That?
Saturday July 20 When Things Go Wrong
Saturday July 27 How to Camp and Hike with Your Dog
Saturday Aug 3 How Did Native Californians Live off the Land?
Saturday Aug 10 Bears, Bears, Bears
Saturday Aug 17 Gold Miners, Rustlers, and Secret Societies
 Saturday Aug 24 Thunder and Lightning!
Saturday Aug 31 How We Got A Wilderness
Sunday Sep 1 My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail