Ranger Talks

Programs start at 7:30 pm in the Greyback Amphitheater (about a mile and a half east of the Barton Flats Visitor Center on Hwy 38). Programs are arranged, coordinated, and introduced by SGWA volunteer rangers .  SGWA volunteer rangers also present most of the programs. In addition to maintaining the Greyback Amphitheater facilities, California Land Management (the local campground concessionaire) provides monetary support for interpretive training, supplies, and equipment, and employees to set up and take down program equipment. In all, a great partnership between SGWA, California Land Management, and the Forest Service for the benefit of the public.

The programs are free along with hot chocolate and coffee (your generous donations are welcome and appreciated), with candy and snacks available for purchase. Bring warm clothing. Programs will be held each scheduled weekend unless it is raining DURING the program time (rain before or after, the show goes on – sprinkles don’t count as rain).

Programs run about one hour, and the schedule is subject to change.

2018 Ranger Talk Schedule
DATE PROGRAM
Saturday May 26 My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail
Sunday May 27 Living Off the Land – How did the Indians do it?
Saturday June 2 Take The Big Foot Challenge
Saturday June 9 Wait Till It Gets Dark
Saturday June 16 Rattlesnakes: Cold-Blooded Killers
Saturday June 23 Scat! What’s That?
Saturday June 30 Bears, Bears, Bears
Saturday July 7 When Things Go Wrong
Saturday July 14 The Better to See You With, My Deer
Saturday July 21 Mountains, Valleys, Rocks & Dirt
Saturday July 28 How WE Made A Wilderness
Saturday Aug 4 The Amazing John Muir and the John Muir Trail
Saturday Aug 11 Could You Be the Lorax?
Saturday Aug 18 Experiencing the Wilderness with Children
Saturday Aug 25 Secrets of the Oak Woodlands
 Saturday Sep 1  My Solo Through Hike On The Pacific Crest Trail
Sunday Sep 2 How WE Made A Wilderness