Hunting SGWA, Vivian Creek (5/1) and Mineshaft Flats (5/23-5/25) with pictures

Home Forums Trail Conditions Hunting SGWA, Vivian Creek (5/1) and Mineshaft Flats (5/23-5/25) with pictures

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Justin
      Participant

Hello,

I am new to hunting in California. I am from Minnesota, where we hunt deer from stands based on their travel patterns through the dense forests of Northern Minnesota. I went out on a 3-day solo excursion based out of the Mineshaft Flats campsite on 5/23-5/25 in search of Mule deer. I saw 4 on the evening of 5/25, which leads me to believe that although I have a lot to learn, I am on the right track. I was about 8.5 miles in at the location I saw them. I have a few general questions for those that may hunt the SGWA.

1. Are there any sort of obvious rules/regulations specific to hunting the SGWA that I should be aware of? One question I do have is are hunters allowed to be issued permits to camp in areas that are not established campsites (while still of course following rules of staying 200+ feet away from a water source, etc.)?

2. Generally speaking, how is the deer and bear population? Over time, as I continue to make 2 or 3 day trips over this summer, I imagine that I’ll be able to see this for myself as I continue to explore, scout and learn.